2013 Annual Student Awards

We hereby confer the following awards to those students who showed exceptional merit, devotion to learning, and progress in the mastery of the fine arts.

The Gwendolyn Laan Ozols Award
Aimee F. Siegel

Established by James J. Coleman in memory of Gwendolyn Laan Ozols, this award is given for outstanding accomplishments, capability of continued growth and our anticipation of the student's future contributions to the community through art.

The Thomas Eakins Award
Renee Mitchell Mithun

The Thomas Eakins Award is given to a student who has shown consistent, outstanding growth and overall excellence.

The Walter Stuempfig Award
Kaori Maeyama

Walter Stuempfig (1914 - 1967) was an American painter and professor at the Pennsylvania Academy of Fine Arts. This award was established in his honor by his son Anthony, and is given for overall excellence.

The Jaye D. Percy Award
Mary Ann Dyer

Established by Billups Percy in memory of his wife, a former student at the New Orleans Academy of Fine Arts. This award is given to a student who has shown exceptional promise, discipline, and selfless devotion to studying the fine arts.

The Alfred Stieglitz Award
Gail Morgan

Presented to a student of photography who made exceptional progress in establishing personal vision, developing a unique style and innovatively mastering technology, has demonstrated outstanding creativity, and shows significant potential to contribute to the arts community.

The NOAFA Scholarship Award
Scarlette Theile

Given to a student who has demonstrated outstanding growth and progress, shown dedication by attending classes full time at a financial sacrifice.

Color and Design Award
Allison Jones

Faculty Awards


Faculty members give these awards to honor students who have shown outstanding ability and a sincere interest in learning



Kim Bernadas

Darrell Brown

Jean Cassels

Diego Larguia

Owen Murphy

Auseklis Ozols

Carol Peebles

Victoria Ryan

Phil Sandusky

Billy Solitario

Sarah Thibodeaux

Nell Tilton




Andrea Day Bukaty

Nicole Lirette

Cary King

Ted Carter

Kathleen Matthews

Laura Saxon

Eddie Martin

David Zuber

Gail Lavis

Lil Pinney

Cynthia Perrilliat